At-Rest Encryption encrypts files that are uploaded using SynaMan's web interface. These files are automatically decrypted right before they are downloaded from the web interface. It is important that you read this page in its entirety before using this feature.
$INSTALL_DIR\config\encryption.keyfile. SynaMan will send an email notification to the administrator when a new key is created.
You must backup
$INSTALL_DIR\config\encryption.key and keep it in a safe place. You will NOT be able to decrypt files if this
encryption.key file gets corrupted or is deleted. Our support department will not be able help you if you don't have this file backed up.
Note that the last modified date (LMD) of this file should never change after creation. A newer LMD indicates somehow the file was modified and you may have to restore it.
Needless to say, you will lose your data if the encryption key is either corrupted or missing. If the file is deleted by mistake, SynaMan will end up creating a new key. Since the new key will be different from the older one, you will not be able to decrypt files encrypted with the older key.
Additionally, uploads and downloads will be a slower since both operations will require additional processing.
This feature is off by default. Use the following steps to enable it.
Yes. You will have an option of encrypting existing files that were in clear earlier after you save the configuration.
Note that the opposite is not possible - meaning for security reasons, you cannot decrypt files belonging to a user. In order to decrypt, you must login as the user and download files using the web interface.
Yes. Try adding the same shared folder again, which will modify its properties. Since the existing files in the folder are not encrypted, use the following steps to encrypt them:
You can validate encrypted files for both user's home folders as well as shared folders. To do that, click the lock icon ( ) either under Manage Folders or Manage Users. This process does following:
You will definitely lose important files if the encryption key, which is saved in
$INSTALL_DIR\config\encryption.key is either deleted or gets
corrupted. To avoid such problems and to prevent data loss, SynaMan will send emails to the administrator when:
encryption.keyfile should never change.