Syncrify » Knowledge base

Document information

Document ID:3122
Subject:Users disappeared in Syncrify
Creation date:12/18/13 5:54 AM
Last modified on:12/18/13 6:02 AM


My users disappeared

User information is stored in an XML file in Syncrify. This XML file is located in $INSTALL_DIR\config\UserMappings.xml. If for any reason this XML file gets corrupted, you won't see any users in Syncrify.

As a precaution, Syncrify makes a backup of the entire config folder into 7 zipped files (one for every weekday) that are found in $INSTALL_DIR\config\archives folder, allowing administrators to restore any file in case something goes wrong. You can restore UserMappings.xml file using the following steps below:

  • First, locate the last good backup. Extract the most recent zipped file and check if the length of UserMappings.xml is greater than a few KB. On Windows, the XML extension is typically associated with Internet Explorer, which does a good job of not only displaying XML content but also verifying it. If you get an error opening the XML file, move on to the previous backup.
  • Stop Syncrify Server if it is running
  • Replace the bad UserMappings.xml file from $INSTALL_DIR\config folder with a good one from the backup.
  • Restart Syncrify and verify the users are back.

A better approach

Consider using a relational database if you have many users in Syncrify. An RDBMS not only provides better storage, managing a large number of users is also easier. Click here for more information. 






Add a comment to this document

Do you have a helpful tip related to this document that you'd like to share with other users? Please add it below. Your name and tip will appear at the end of the document text.
Your name:
Your email:
Hide my email address
Verification code:
Enter the verification code you see above more submitting your tip
Tip:Please limit tips to 1000 characters

Navigation

Social Media

Powered by 10MinutesWeb.com