Document information

Document ID:1474
Subject:Maintaining multiple versions of a backed up file
Creation date:8/31/10 9:50 AM
Last modified on:12/8/11 2:11 PM


Creating file versions

Starting from version 2.1 multiple versions of a file can be created on the server. Consider the following scenario:

  • A user creates a new document and backs it up to Syncrify server
  • Later on he/she makes changes to this document and backs up the modified version of the same file
  • Syncrify server will keep both versions of the file. The latest version is stored as-is on the server but older versions just contains the difference in the file. If a user decides to restore an older version, Syncrify server will rebuild the file on-demand.

Benefits of using versioning

  • Users can restore a previous version of a file.
  • Previous versions of a file are store in a special format containing enough information to rebuild the file on demand, tremendously reducing disk space on the server.

Steps to use versioning

Versioning can be enabled or disabled on a per-user basis. When creating a new user, the administrator must decide the number of versions to maintain for every file. Specify a number greater than 0 to enable versioning. Assume a backup is run every night. Specifying a value 7 for this field will create up to 7 versions of a file, each representing one day of data.

On client's end, versioning can be further narrowed down to a profile level - meaning you can select the profiles for which versioning is enabled. Allowing users to create versions for certain types of files but not others.

Follow the steps below to enable versioning on the client's end
  • Start Syncrify client
  • Select a desired profile
  • Click on the advanced tab
  • Check Enable versioning
  • Save the profile


Caveats

It is important to note that previous file versions are automatically deleted when:
  • File encryption is enabled or disabled
  • Encryption password is modified
  • Versioning is enabled but client runs a backup job with this option disabled. In this case, previous versions will be removed and new versions will be created when it is enabled again.
  • The option "Delete files from server" is checked and user deletes a file from the client machine.


Restoring previous versions (Using web interface)

  • Login to the web interface using your login ID/password (this must be a non-admin account)
  • Navigate to the desired file. Click the right mouse button and select Previous Versions



  • Select the desired version from the list and download.



Restoring previous versions (Using Syncrify Client)

  • Start Syncrify client
  • Navigate to the file that you would like to restore.
  • Highlight the desired file, click the right mouse button and select Restore previous versions from the pop-up menu.



  • This will invoke a screen that displays previously backed up versions and allows users to restore the desired file.



  • To restore any version, select appropriate row and click the Restore button.

How are versions stored

You will see additional files on the server when versioning is enabled. These files are stored in the same folder where the actual file is stored.

Assume the 5 versions of Instructions.docx exist. You will see the following files in the repository path of the user.
File Name File Size Last modified date Description
Instructions.docx 24.5 MB March 30, 2010 This is the most recent version (version 5) of the file.
Instructions.docx.4_34233_1000_synver 1.5 KB March 25, 2010 Version 4 - this is just the delta change. If user decides to restore this version, Syncrify merges this delta with version 5 and sends it back to the client.
Instructions.docx.3_3584_1000_synver 2.4 KB March 20, 2010 Version 3
Instructions.docx.2_78484_1000_synver 2.4 KB March 10, 2010 Version 2
Instructions.docx.1_873584_1000_synver 2.4 KB March 09, 2010 Version 1




Add a comment to this document

Do you have a helpful tip related to this document that you'd like to share with other users? Please add it below. Your name and tip will appear at the end of the document text.
Your name:
Your email:
Hide my email address
Verification code:
Enter the verification code you see above more submitting your tip
Tip:Please limit tips to 1000 characters

Navigation

Social Media

Powered by 10MinutesWeb.com