Syncrify » Knowledge base

Document information

Document ID:1491
Subject:I get a message 'Unable to lock profile' when running a backup
Creation date:9/4/10 7:03 AM
Last modified on:9/4/10 7:04 AM


Unable to lock profile


When a backup is run in Syncrify Client, it creates a lock file preventing a second instance of Syncrify Client from running the same profile. When a backup is complete this lock is released.

This lock is not released if the Syncrify Client terminates prematurely. In such cases you will have to release the lock manually.

Steps to release a lock

  • Start Syncrify Client
  • Click Open Data Folder under the File menu
  • This will open Windows Explorer
  • Look for a file with a .lock extension and delete it.



User comments

Posted by david on 10/3/10 2:40 PM

The .lock extension file may not be in the data folder. Mine was in a ".syncrify" folder in my user directory.


Add a comment to this document

Do you have a helpful tip related to this document that you'd like to share with other users? Please add it below. Your name and tip will appear at the end of the document text.
Your name:
Your email:
Hide my email address
Verification code:
Enter the verification code you see above more submitting your tip
Tip:Please limit tips to 1000 characters

Navigation

Social Media

Powered by 10MinutesWeb.com