Resolving permission problems in Syncrify Client
When using service-based clients, backups are executed by a service running in the background. The name
of this service is Backup Monitor Service
and is visible through the Services
application in Control Panel.
Like any other service on Windows, you can chose the user that is going to run that service.
The default value for this user is the build-in SYSTEM
Although the built-in SYSTEM
user has access to every folder on the disk, these default permissions can be modified
by the user. If for any reason, the user that runs the service is denied access to any folder or file, Syncrify will not be
able to backup those objects.
Starting from build 828, Syncrify client can display files and folders with a line through their names if a particular folder cannot be
accessed from the service running in the background.
You will see a line through a folder name if that particular folder is inaccessible by the service running in the background.
Syncrify Client queries the service that confirms if a folder or file is accessible. There are a couple of reasons why a file can
- The user running the service does not have permission
- The file is currently in use and is locked by another process
Check the log on the client machine to see the exact error message. Note that if a file is locked by another process, Syncrify
will report that it is inaccessible, however, when Backup Locked File
option is checked, Syncrify will still be able to
backup these files.
The following images display screenshots showing an inaccessible file or folder.